Driving Under the Influence

Although a charge of Driving Under the Influence, or DUI, could pertain to drugs, there is a specific classification for this type of offense – DUID, or Driving Under the Influence of Drugs.  Often, the DUI charge relates to driving under the influence of alcohol.

You might not think it’s a big deal, but if you fail to fight your DUI, there could be serious consequences, even for a first-time offense, including fines and jail time.  What happens when you get a DUI and what can you do to defend yourself against charges and penalties?  The best place to start is partnering with the experts at Curtis Law Firm to strategize your legal defense.

What Happens When You Get a DUI?

When you get a DUI in Colorado, your driver’s license will be automatically revoked.  You will have to challenge this revocation or risk losing your license for up to nine months, and you may only have seven calendar days to do so.  That’s only the beginning.

Filling out proper paperwork, requesting your DMV hearing, and dealing with issues related to your case prior to your hearing (like challenging license revocation or arranging for out-of-state travel) can be complicated if you go it alone.  You don’t want to make a mistake.

In other words, you need to take immediate action, and your best chance to minimize penalties and beat DUI charges is to find a suitable attorney that can guide you through the process.  Although resolving your DUI could take 3-6 months or longer, you don’t have time to waste – you need immediate legal representation when you’re charged with a DUI.

First and Subsequent Offenses

You might be surprised to learn about the possible penalties associated with even a first-offense DUI charge, including:

  • Alcohol and drug evaluation
  • An order to maintain sobriety and submit to monitoring
  • Attendance at a victim impact panel organized by MADD (Mothers Against Drunk Driving)
  • Fines of $600-1,000
  • Community service of 48-96 hours
  • Probation from 0-2 years
  • Jail time from 5 days to 1 year

The legal limit for blood alcohol content (BAC) in Colorado is 0.08, and if you reach or exceed this limit, you will be charged with DUI.  However, if your BAC is over 0.20, you’ll suffer even stricter penalties, including a 10-day minimum mandatory jail sentence (although the judge may impose sentencing alternatives like electronic home monitoring).

Regardless of how long ago a prior DUI offense was, following offenses will incur more severe penalties.  Your second DUI could result in penalties such as:

  • Fines of $600-1,500
  • Community service of 48-120 hours
  • Probation from 2-4 years
  • Jail time from 10 days to 1 year, with a mandatory minimum of 10 days (or a sentencing alternative, at the discretion of the judge)

For a third DUI offense, you could face:

  • Fines of $600-1,500
  • Community service of 48-120 hours
  • Probation from 2-4 years
  • Jail time from 60 days to 1 year
  • Driver’s license revocation of up to 2 years (or possibly more, depending on your driving history)

A fourth offense will result in a felony DUI, which could include fines in the tens of thousands (or even hundreds of thousands) of dollars, as well as significant jail time (up to multiple years). You cannot hope to successfully fight DUI charges without the help of experienced and reputable lawyers on your side, and the professionals at Curtis Law Firm are ready to assist you.

Free Case Review

How Can We Help You?

Our experienced attorneys are here to support you through all your legal concerns.

CONTACT US

Contact Us Today To Schedule A Free 30 Minute Consultation